DUI Penalties in Sacramento

The penalties for a DUI (driving under the influence) conviction in Sacramento, California may vary depending upon a number of particular circumstances. However, sentencing and penalties for DUI in California are listed below as found in the Sacramento Vehicle Code Division 11.5:

First DUI Offense:

  • Driver’s license suspension for up to 4 months
  • Probation for 1 to 5 years
  • 3 to 6 months of alcohol classes
  • Fines and court fees of $390 to $1,500
  • 0 to 6 months in county jail

Second DUI Offense (within 10 years):

  • Driver’s license suspension for 1 to 2 years
  • 1 to 5 years of probation
  • 18 months of mandatory alcohol classes
  • AA meetings
  • Fines and court fees of $390 to $1,500
  • 96 hours to 1 year in county jail

Third DUI Offense (within 10 years):

  • Driver’s license suspension for up to 3 years
  • Up to 5 years of probation
  • 18 months of alcohol classes
  • AA meetings
  • Fines of up to $1,500
  • Ignition Interlock Device installed on defendant’s vehicle
  • 4 months to 1 year in jail

Fourth DUI Offense (within 10 years):

  • Felony charges
  • License suspension for up to 4 years
  • 18 months of mandatory alcohol classes
  • AA meetings
  • Up to $1,500 in fines
  • 1 to 5 years of imprisonment in state prison

Additionally, the following factors may result in enhanced penalties:

  • A blood alcohol concentration of .16% or greater
  • A minor under the age of 14 in the car with the defendant at the time of the offense
  • Prior DUI convictions
  • Causing an auto accident resulting in injury or death

Sacramento DUI Attorney

To have the greatest opportunity of avoiding the many penalties and negative consequences of an Sacramento DUI conviction, be sure to contact an attorney as soon as possible. As an experienced Sacramento DUI lawyer, Denis H. White is here to offer you the aggressive and dedicated representation you deserve. Contact DUI attorney Denis H. White today to learn more about how you can avoid serious DUI penalties.